Tuesday, June 08, 2010

Nicholas & Jasikevicius Win Greek Championship

Drew Nicholas (1999-2003), Sarunas Jasikevicius (1994-98), and their team, Panathinaikos BC, won the Greek League Championship 3 games to 1 in a best-of-5 series against arch-rivals Olympaikos. This was Panathinaikos's eighth straight Greek championship.

But the above-linked FIBA game summary misses the real story of the night: the fan violence at Olympaikos's home arena. The game was called with 1:03 left in the 4th quarter after unruly fans caused several delays of the game (including throwing flares and firecrackers at the Panathinaikos bench). The BallinEurope blog has videos and commentary on the crazy ending to the championship series. Drew Nicholas scored the last points of the game before the referees called the game and awarded Panathinaikos the game 4 win by forfeit.


Anonymous said...

Where is the crowd control. FREDTERP

MVPjasikevicius said...

Panathinaikos deserved victory. Congratz for Ĺ aras and Drew their was.

gayros fans is stupid.