Sunday, May 03, 2009

Jasikevicius and Nicholas Win Euroleague Championship

Drew Nicholas (1999-2003) and Sarunas Jasikevicius (1994-98) are Euroleague Champions, as their team Panathinaikos hung on to defeat CSKA Moscow 73-71. Sarunas had 10 points, 4 assists, 4 rebounds, and a steal, while Nicholas chipped in 7 points, 1 rebound, and 1 assist. For CSKA Moscow, Terence Morris (1997-2001) played 10 minutes, but did not score or rebound.

The game looked like a Panathinaikos blow-out in the first half, with the Greens leading by 20 at halftime. But they went ice cold in the 3rd period, as CSKA chipped away at the lead to cut it to within 1 point with 8 seconds left in the game. But Jasikevicius hit one of two free throws with 5 seconds left to extend the lead to its final margin of 2.

At the 0:39 mark of this highlight video, watch the assist from Nicholas (#11) to Jasikevicius (#19) in the corner for three. Then, at the 1:05 mark, check out the sweet Jasikevicius behind-the-back assist to Nicholas for the three pointer to end the first half:

This was Sarunas Jasikevicius's fourth Euroleague title in four trips to the Final Four with his third different team. Here is Sarunas's post-game interview:

The replay of the game should be available on ESPN360 for a day or two, if ESPN360 is compatible with your internet provider (the semi-final games are still available for replay as of Monday morning (5/4/09) as well).

No comments: